Goodreads Challenge Update 13/05/2016

If you’re friends with me on Goodreads (which I welcome you to be!), then you’ve probably been keeping up with my challenge. I just wanted to take a moment to reflect on what I’ve read now that we’re 1/3 of the way through the year – I, too, was shocked when I realized that 1/3 of the year has already passed. Where did the time go?

My challenge this year was 35 books, which has dropped from last year’s original challenge of 45. I had a hard time reaching my goal last year, with school and work and life in general, so by the end of 2015 I needed to edit it to 37 books so I would be able to achieve it. This year I wanted to give myself more breathing room, and maybe even get myself to surpass my challenge!

So far I have managed to read 14 books, which are:

Movie Game by Michael Ebner – 2/5 stars

Ms. Marvel Volumes 1-3 by G. Willow Wilson – average 4.3/5 stars

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover – 4/5 stars

The Vacationers by Emma Straub – 4/5 stars

Thor Volumes 1-2 by Jason Aaron – average 4/5 stars

Dreaming of Antigone by Robin Bridges – 2/5 stars

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell – 5/5 stars

The Space Between by Michelle L. Teichman – 3/5 stars

Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes – 4/5 stars

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh – 5/5 stars

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman

 

My favourites of the year at this point are The Wrath and the Dawn and Radio Silence – both such wonderful books for very different reasons!

Fun fact: you probably can’t tell from this list, but the first 9 books that I read this year were books that I didn’t own physical copies of – they were either ebooks or borrowed from somewhere! This is pretty funny to me, since a couple of years ago I was so against ebooks and didn’t even have a library card. Oh, how things change.

At the moment I’m currently reading The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner.

Other books I hope to get to this year include:

  1. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
  2. The Rose and the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh
  3. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi
  4. Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson
  5. Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

Of course that’s not all of the books I want to read, but it’s a little taste of what you might be able to expect reviews for throughout the rest of the year.

Did you set a Goodreads challenge? How’s it going?

Thanks for reading, and I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

~ Becca

One thought on “Goodreads Challenge Update 13/05/2016

Leave a Reply

