Spring Cleaning Unhaul

Hello friends!

After months of neglecting my unorganized shelves because of school work, a couple of weeks ago I finally found the time to dust them off. While I was at it, I decided that it was time to remove some books from my shelves. I only intended to take away two, but after much deliberation I ended up removing 17 books, each for various reasons.

So here for you today, in no particular order, I have a discussion of the books I am saying goodbye to, and will be donating to a second-hand store.

1. The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler

I bought and read this book a loooooong time ago, and while I did enjoy it, I no longer feel the need to have it. I’m not one to re-read in the first place, but this was definitely a book I don’t think I’ll ever re-read, so away it goes to a better home.

2. This Is Not a Test by Courtney Summers

This was the prize for the first giveaway I ever won. I don’t even remember why I entered the giveaway, to be honest, since this book had never been on my TBR. Anyway, I won it and read it and didn’t really like it, so there’s no point in me keeping it.

3. The Selection Stories by Kiera Cass

This book contains The Prince and The Guard, and came out a while ago. Why they decided to re-release them in Happily Ever After, along with The Queen and The Favourite, I will never understand. Since I plan on getting HEA, I don’t really need this little book because these same stories will be in the other one anyway.

4. Landline by Rainbow Rowell

I bought this book at my library’s book sale on a complete whim – I mean, $2 for hardcovers? How could I resist? Since then, however, I’ve heard pretty meh things about this book from people whose opinions I trust. Plus, it’s not anywhere high up on my TBR.

5. Possible Side Effects by Augusten Burroughs

I picked this one up at a past library sale purely based on the brightness of the cover – I mean, I’d heard pretty good things about the author, but the cover was just bright and pretty. Like with a lot of books on this list, though, it’s not something I have a tug to read in my gut, and as soon as I stop getting that reaction from a book, no matter where it is on my TBR, then I know it’s time to let it go.

6. All Fall Down by Jennifer Weiner

Of the 3 books I got at a “buy 3 for $10” sale at Chapters, this book was the one was the last one I picked up. The other two I’d at least heard of, but this was the one book that I’d found interesting on the spot. Obviously, since then my interest in it has faded.

7. Miss Peregrine’s and Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

I honestly only picked these up at a used bookstore because I’d heard all the hype, and figured they were cheap so it wouldn’t really matter. Unfortunately I’ve never really been interested in these books – to be honest, the covers kind of freak me out (I’m not a horror-story person) – so I figure it’ll be good to give them to someone who actually wants to read them.

8. Proxy by Alex London

I was hesitant about donating this one, since I hear it’s very underrated, but the fact is that I have also lost my reading-tug for this one, too. I also figure that if I want to read it in the future, I can borrow it from the library.

9. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

I got this book from Book Outlet last year. I’d heard a lot of good things, and it was only $7, so I picked it up. While I still think I could be interested in this story and might want to read it some day, some day is not now or anytime soon, and with all the other books I have to read this book just has no place on my shelves at the moment.

10. The Host by Stephanie Meyer

I got this from Book Outlet, as well, and I’m basically donating it for the same reason as The Bone Season.

11. Sekret by Lindsay Smith

This was a bargain book at Chapters, and when it was featured on an underrated book post I decided it was worth the $5 buy. This is the first book in a duology, and I’ve had every intention of getting the second book, but it just never happened.

12. The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan

I found this all alone at my library’s book sale, and figured I could go get the other books in the trilogy another time. Unfortunately, I’m still a little on the fence about whether or not I want to continue reading Riordan’s books – I really enjoy his writing, but apparently he has said some negative things about people who still believe in the myths that he’s inspired by? Even with this moral dilemma, the man has just written too many books and there’s little hope for me to catch up with them all, and honestly I probably won’t be getting the rest of the books anytime soon, so away it goes.

13. The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes

Remember that 3 for $10 sale I talked about earlier? Well, this book was also part of that. I’d heard of this book before from a booktuber, so I thought it would be cool to have. Sadly, all it has done is sit on my shelves, and when I don’t plan on reading it anytime soon, there really is no reason for me to keep it.

14. The Diviners by Libba Bray

I was surprised when I found this book in the bargain section of Chapters, and – as with The Bone Season and The Host – I’d heard a million and one great things about it, plus the naked hardcover was so pretty! I think it had been pretty high up on my TBR at one point, but with the addition of so many other books, it fell until I kind of forgot about it.

15. In A World Just Right by Jen Brooks

I really only bought this book because the cover was so beautiful, and it was only like $6. While the description seems interesting, it’s really not a book that I feel the need to own anymore.

16. A Robot in the Garden by Deborah Install

This is yet another book that I only bought for the cover and semi-interesting description, which is a bad habit I have when I’m at discounted bookstores. Like with the previous book, I just don’t feel the need to own it, so it’s better off with someone who does want to read it more than I do.

~~~

And where will all these books be going, you ask? Well my plan is to just donate them to my local charity shop. I would try to sell them to a used book seller, but there aren’t really any near me, and I don’t have the tools to sell them online. So donating it is!

Thank you all very much for reading this long post!

~Becca

5 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning Unhaul

Leave a Reply

