Book Review: Thor Volumes 1 & 2 by Jason Aaron

Volume 1, Volume 2 on Goodreads

Publisher: Marvel

Date of Publication: May 26, 2015; July 21, 2015

Date Read: February 28, 2016; February 29, 2016

Description:

Volume 1

Mjolnir lies on the moon, unable to be lifted! Something dark has befallen the God of Thunder, leaving him unworthy for the first time ever! But when Frost Giants invade Earth, the hammer will be lifted – and a mysterious woman will be transformed into an all-new version of the mighty Thor! Who is this new Goddess of Thunder? Not even Odin knows…but she may be Earth’s only hope against the Frost Giants! Get ready for a Thor like you’ve never seen before, as this all-new heroine takes Midgard by storm! Plus: the Odinson clearly doesn’t like that someone else is holding his hammer…it’s Thor vs. Thor! And Odin, desperate to see Mjolnir returned, will call on some very dangerous, very unexpected allies. It’s a bold new chapter in the storied history of Thor!

Volume 2

Who is Thor? That’s the question on everyone’s lips. Most especially Prince Odinson of Asgard. This volume, he starts to narrow down the list of suspects. Meanwhile, tensions continue to flare between the All-Mother and All-Father, Malekith forges his most dangerous pact yet, and Thor prepares to face her greatest challenge!

Buy it from: Chapters | Barnes and NobleBook Depository

My rating: Volume 1 = ★★★★★, Volume 2 = ★★★☆☆

I’ll admit: I haven’t seen any of the Thor movies. I pretty much know NOTHING about Thor aside from what he’s done in the Avengers. I know, fake geek girl. Whatever. I really just picked these up because my library keeps getting in these woman hero graphic novels and I can’t resist.

Anyway, the first volume was definitely the best of the two. While the second one actually revealed who Thor is, it was just too short and I was super annoyed. Like, if volume 2 had just been the 2 issues within, I would’ve been happy. But these filler stories were added to the end to give the book more pages and, honestly, I couldn’t bring myself to read all of them. I think I read the first 2, and then I just got bored. These filler stories had nothing to do with the main story, aside from the characters in them. I think I feel lied to, because I expected more of the main story but didn’t get it.

Moving on, the art was dramatic and beautiful. It definitely had a different feel from the Ms. Marvel graphic novels, but I think this art was more fitting for the content and the characters. Not as bright and colourful, but it really set the feeling and mood that this story was trying to get across. A+ to the artists, Russell Dauterman and Jorge Molina.

The stories themselves were interesting and action-packed. I loved the presence of feminism, but I also liked seeing this new Thor kind of grow into her newfound responsibility and power.

Overall: Hooray for girl power, boo for unnecessary filler stories.


This review was originally posted on my booklr on February 29th, 2016

One thought on “Book Review: Thor Volumes 1 & 2 by Jason Aaron

Leave a Reply

