Book Review: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

TWATD

Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group

Date of Publication: May 12, 2015

Date Read: February 26, 2016 – February 28, 2016

Description:

One Life to One Dawn.

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

Inspired by A Thousand and One Nights, The Wrath and the Dawn is a sumptuous and enthralling read from beginning to end.

Buy It From: Chapters | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository

My Rating: ★★★★★

I don’t even know where to begin with this book. I’d heard a million and one wonderful things about it, and many people kept telling me that it would break my heart. And, me being me, I didn’t take their warnings seriously, because very few books have left me heartbroken.

I should’ve listened.

My boyfriend was in the room when I finished the book, and he can testify that I slapped the nearest cushion after I read the last page. Like, seriously, what was that ending????

Okay before I get riled up again, let’s touch upon everything I enjoyed (spoiler alert: I enjoyed everything about this book).

Characters: I almost instantly fell in love with Shazi. She’s clever and “silver tongued” and knows how to stand on her own two feet, but she also makes mistakes and isn’t perfect. Khalid is my baby and it’s NOT HIS FAULT. Just seeing how much love he truly has is just so wonderful. I could keep going with all the individual characters, but I would pretty much just keep saying the same thing: I love them all, with their bold personalities and humour.

Story: This book was so jam packed with action and big twists! Halfway through I was already exhausted from what had happened up to that point – it was enough to fill one book all on its own – but then there was an entire other half that I needed to tackle. And, don’t worry, the second half is just as adventure-filled and exciting as the first half. The energy never died with this book, it was amazing until the last word.

Writing: L-O-V-E-D Ahdieh’s writing and how she described everything. I especially loved the descriptions of the food… it totally didn’t make my mouth water at all…

Honestly, I’m kind of at a loss for words with this book. It was such a rollercoaster ride of emotions and adventure, and I broke my book buying ban to get the sequel so I could find out what happens to my babies. This is, by far, my favourite book that I’ve read so far in 2016.

Overall: 10/10 Would HIGHLY recommend.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

Leave a Reply

