Book Review: Dreaming of Antigone by Robin Bridges

 

Antigone

(Image and Description from Goodreads)

Publisher: Kensington

Date of Publication: March 29, 2016

Date Read: February 24 – March 3

Description:

Every star has its own path…

“I can’t ever be the blazing star that Iris was. I’m still just a cold, dark satellite orbiting a star that went super nova.”
 
Andria’s twin sister, Iris, had adoring friends, a cool boyfriend, a wicked car, and a shelf full of soccer trophies. She had everything, in fact—including a drug problem. Six months after Iris’s death, Andria is trying to keep her grades, her friends, and her family from falling apart. But stargazing and books aren’t enough to ward off her guilt that she—the freak with the scary illness and all-black wardrobe—is still here when Iris isn’t. And then there’s Alex Hammond. The boy Andria blames for Iris’s death. The boy she’s unwittingly started swapping lines of poetry and secrets with, even as she tries to keep hating him.
 
Heartwrenching, smart, and bold, Dreaming of Antigone is a story about the jagged pieces that lie beneath the surface of the most seemingly perfect life…and how they can fit together to make something wholly unexpected.

Buy It From: Chapters | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository

Note: I received an ebook copy of this book from Kensington via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Deciding how I felt about this book was tough, and my feelings kept changing. One minute I didn’t like it, another I thought it was okay, and sometimes I did enjoy it.

Overall, though, this book was a solid okay.

Listen, this book was entertaining enough. I never felt like I needed to stop reading it, which is good, because it was interesting enough for me to want to find out what happens. For pure entertainment value, it’s an A+. More things I like include: its incorporation and discussion of epilepsy and seizures, which I don’t read a lot about, and Andria’s love for the universe and poetry. It was nice.

Otherwise, there are just too many aspects of this book that I’m not happy with.

The first 60% was a little slow for my liking. It wasn’t until well into the second half that the story got kind of exciting, but even then it started falling flat again. It really just felt like nothing happened for most of the book – the same places were mentioned, the same characters, the same feelings. Nothing seemed to change. There were also a lot of cliches that I grew tired of as the book went along.

I didn’t really like the time changes, either. Like in one paragraph Andria would be doing something, and the next she’d be describing an event that realistically wouldn’t happen for a long time. I can understand that nothing worth describing would happen in between, but I feel like there’s a better way of writing changes in time without making it seem like separate events happen right after each other.

I also just didn’t react very emotionally to this book. It was only that one big revelation that shocked me, but every other revelation that was supposed to be “shocking” or “big” didn’t have me reacting like I would for major events. I wasn’t shocked, I wasn’t upset by things, I was just reading with little to no emotional reaction. I wanted this book to grab me and shake me and make me care about the characters and what was happening in their lives, but it just didn’t.

As for the ending: first of all, it seemed really abrupt. I was hoping there would be more, but the last few pages were just a sneak peek at another book. That was a little annoying.

My other issue with the ending is… well, the endgame. There’s no way I can discuss this without spoiling the end, but I really really wish that it had ended on just Andria, not Andria and whoever she ends up with. This relationship she’s in just doesn’t sit well with me, and I would’ve preferred if she’d gotten to learn more about herself, or had just ended not in a relationship.

On the other hand, I wish Andria’s relationship with her mom had improved. They left on a kind of sour note, and honestly I cared more about Andria and her mom than who Andria ended up with. If the ending was about her and her mom, I would have been much, much happier.

I’m quite indifferent about the characters: they were good enough for what they were, but they weren’t anything special. I actually found I was annoyed by them more than I cared about them. Andria and Alex were tolerable, separately. I didn’t like Andria’s friends, or their message that people should be together because they can “fix” each other.

Oh, and Andria mentions Alex’s blue eyes way too much. It got too repetitive and I was tired of hearing about his eyes by the end of the book.

Overall: Entertaining but not mind blowing.


This review was originally posted on my booklr on March 3rd, 2016

One thought on “Book Review: Dreaming of Antigone by Robin Bridges

Leave a Reply

