Intimidating TBR Tag

I’ve decided that whenever I can’t post a video on Fridays, like now during exam season, I’m going to make posts based on the video I was planning to post.

Happy (late) Friday! I hope you’re all relaxing and treating yourselves tonight. I’ve been working on calculus all day, so relaxing is what I plan on doing for the rest of the night.

Anyway, today I’m going to be doing the Intimidating TBR Tag! I was inspired to do it by Jesse, aka jessethereader on YouTube, and the tag was originally created by Lindsey Rey. Basically this tag consists of a series of questions about the books in my quite large TBR pile. So, without further ado, let’s begin!

1. A book that you have been unable to finish?

There are a couple of books that fit this category, but I’m going to go with More Than This by Patrick Ness. I started reading this last year when I borrowed it from a friend, but just couldn’t get into it after the first 40-ish pages. It just didn’t hold my attention that well. I have my own copy now, though, so I definitely plan on giving it another try, especially since everybody else who has read it seems to have loved it.

2. A book that you haven’t read because you haven’t had enough time?

Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes! I started reading this in December for #ReadWomen but with school and work and life in general I just haven’t had the time, which is really sad for me because this is my favourite series.

3. A book you haven’t read yet because it’s a sequel?

Rogue by Julie Kagawa. I bought Talon and Rogue a long time ago because I love their covers, but just haven’t had the opportunity to pick them up yet. They’re about dragons and every time I think about them I’m like “yes I want to read them!!!!” But then something else gets in the way and there they go, slipping down my TBR pile once again.

4. A book you have yet to read because it’s brand spanking new?

I think the newest book I have is The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner, which I got in OwlCrate’s March box, so it’s not really that new. But it’s new enough that I haven’t had the chance to read it yet. It’s definitely not a book I would have picked up on my own, but now that I have it I’m happy to have it in my collection because it’ll be an interesting story, I think.

5. A book you haven’t read yet because you didn’t like another book by the same author?

Going back to Patrick Ness for this because I also have The Knife of Never Letting Go, but since I wasn’t fond of the beginning of More Than This I’m worried that I won’t enjoy any of his other books. I also like the idea of The Rest of Us Just Live Here, which I don’t currently own, but again I’m worried about not enjoying Ness’s writing style at all.

6. A book that you’re not in the mood for?

For this one I’m going with The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons. My boyfriend bought this book for me for our anniversary a year ago, and while at the time I’d been excited to read it, my excitement for it has kind of died down. I think I’m worried about getting really pissed off by the injustice in it, as I am known to do, and right now I don’t think I need that added stress.

7. A book you haven’t read yet because it’s humongous?

The Divine Comedy by Dante Alighieri. 798 pages may not be a lot to some, but it is a lot to me. I’m also very impatient and I tend to enjoy short books in the first place, so it makes sense that bigger books really intimidate me.

8. A book you bought for the cover but mixed reviews have stopped you from reading it?

I bought The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton from a used bookstore because it’s a cool Waterstones edition that has blue colouring on the outside of the pages. Seriously, it’s so pretty! But I’ve heard really mixed things about it, so I’ve started putting off reading it. If you have any thoughts about it, I will definitely hear them out!

9. What’s the most intimidating book on your TBR?

I don’t even know what makes a book the most intimidating??? I think right now my biggest worry is Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas because it’s been out for so long now and I keep almost seeing spoilers. I thought Heir of Fire was too long to begin with, and with QoS being so much bigger I feel like I’m going to like it even less. Seriously, why do books keep getting bigger?

10. Who do you tag?

I tag the following people, if they ever read this: Bazzi, Cat, and Adele! If YOU want to do this tag, then I encourage you to do so and say that I tagged you!

 

One thought on “Intimidating TBR Tag

Leave a Reply

