10 Series I Have Yet to Finish/Catch Up With

To say that there are a lot of books in the world would be the understatement of the century. With new books being released pretty much every week, if not every day, keeping up with the latest and greatest books is tough. It’s easy to fall behind when there are so many books to be excited about. Plus, I’ve got to do life-sustaining things since unfortunately reading does not feed me, give me energy, or pay me (someone really needs to work on that). With a life this busy – erm, my life in particular – I’ve managed to fall behind on some series that I was once excited about reading.

In no particular order, they are:

1. Reboot by Amy Tintera – Duology

I read Reboot about 2 years ago and I really enjoyed it. Why I never ended up picking up Rebel, the sequel, is beyond me, especially since I gave Reboot 5 stars. Am I scared that Rebel won’t be as good? Maybe? I can’t even explain why I haven’t read the sequel yet.

2. The Gypsy King by Maureen Fergus – Trilogy

I absolutely loved The Gypsy King, and I remember being very excited to start A Fool’s Errand. Somewhere around chapter 12, however, I started getting really anxious for the main character. Everything seemed to be going wrong and at the time I just could not handle that kind of stress so I put the book down. So it’s not that I haven’t finished it because it’s bad – on the contrary, it’s very good, but I am just way too worried about the main character right now and it’s only the beginning of the second book.

3. The Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa – Series

Unlike the last 2 books, I wasn’t so enamoured with The Iron King. I found Megan Chase, the main character, to be really annoying and whiny. All of her decisions were poorly thought out and I couldn’t stand her at all. I tried starting to read The Iron Daughter, but I couldn’t get through it. Which is unfortunate, because I enjoy the Fey aspect of it, and I like Ash, but Megan just ruined the series for me. I have the books up until The Iron Knight (it was a box set) so I might try it again sometime in the future, after I’ve forgotten how much I don’t like the main character.

4. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han – Duology(?)

I also really enjoyed To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, if only because I really identify with Lara Jean. I really want to read the sequel, P.S. I Still Love You, but I just haven’t had the time to read, and when I do have the time there are other books I grab first. That’s the problem with owning so many books: it’s hard to know which one to read next.

5. Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas – Series

Throne of Glass was definitely a series that I needed to take breaks in between to read. Each of these books is just so heavy that I decided to read contemporaries between each book. I got Queen of Shadows when it came out, hoping to read it right away so I could avoid spoilers, but unfortunately with school and everything else in my life I just couldn’t do it. QoS is just such a large book (to me it’s big) that I decided to set it aside until I had more time to read so I could enjoy it properly, like in the summer.

6. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes – Series

This is my favourite series, and yet I’ve had the latest book, Frozen Tides, on my Currently Reading shelf on Goodreads since December. Again, it’s not that it’s bad, I just haven’t had a lot of time to read, and when I have read it’s been stuff that has deadlines, like library books or galleys. This is another book I hope to get to when school is done.

7. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch – Trilogy (?)

I very much enjoyed Snow Like Ashes, but just never ended up buying the second book. I’ve heard pretty mixed things about it, but I am definitely willing to give it a shot, if only to form my own opinion. I actually read Snow Like Ashes a year ago while on a weekend trip with my family. I just recently got Ice Like Fire, the second book, and I’ll be going on another weekend trip after exams, so I might start making it a tradition to read these books while I’m on vacation xD

8. The Rosie Project by Graham Simsion – Duology(?)

I loved The Rosie Project enough that I made my grandmother and aunt read it. My grandma bought me the sequel, The Rosie Effect, for Christmas 2014 and I had started reading it. But, as with A Fool’s Errand, I got really anxious for the main character and couldn’t handle the stress it was putting on me (kind of pathetic, I know). So I let my grandma read it first, and I haven’t picked it up again since.

9. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – Saga

Glass Sword came out a couple of months ago, and I’ve heard some really mixed things about this sequel – apparently you either love it or hate it. Red Queen was pretty good, and it left off on a pretty little cliff-hanger-ish thing, so of course I’m curious to see what happens next. I’ve also kind of been spoiled – only kind of, meaning I know something happens but not to whom it happens. So yeah, I definitely need to get to this one when school is finished.

10. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling – Series

I know, gasp, a bookworm who hasn’t finished the Harry Potter series. I told my coworker this the other day and she totally flipped out on me, telling me that I needed to read it, that I needed to be part of the fandom. Unfortunately, I’ve read the first 2 books and while they’re not horrible, it’s not a series I’ve prioritized. I know people keep saying that the later books are better than the first one, but the fact is that I’ve got other books that I want to read more than I want to read HP. Besides, from being on tumblr and having Potterhead friends and family, I basically know everything about the series, which may also be why I don’t feel the need to read the books.

———

Are there some series you haven’t finished or caught up with? Let’s talk about them in the comments!

Thanks for reading

 

One thought on “10 Series I Have Yet to Finish/Catch Up With

  1. Hmmm IV also gotten lazy reading quite a few series recently. I was so hyped about Glass Sword coming out, but then I kinda forgot about it after refusing to pay full price for a hardcover.

    I’ve also been vary interested in the Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas because I LOVE her other series A Court of Thornes and Roses. What can I say, procrastination. Well, that and lack of money.

    As for Harry Potter, I think I read the 1st book in 2nd or 3rd grade and then I tried to skip to whichever book is the Goblet of Fire ( is that #4) anyways I wanted to read that one because it was my favorite movie in the series at the time. Obviously I was confused and it didn’t work out, but oh well. I have fandom friends that can obsess for me.

    -Brygitt @ teenlythings.net

    Like

Leave a Reply

