10 Books I Might Unhaul?

If you know me, or if you read my post on where I get my books, you know I can go a bit overboard when it comes to purchasing books from used bookstores or discount places like Book Outlet. I’ll see a book that I’ve kind of heard about, or a book that has a really pretty cover and semi-interesting description, and end up buying it because, well, it’s cheap, so why not?

The issue becomes that these books end up sitting on my shelves, not to be read for a long time – maybe not at all. Right now my bookshelves are overflowing big time, especially the contemporary/realistic fiction section, so I think an unhaul is long overdue.

But if you know me, you’ll also know that I have a hard time letting books go.

What if I want to read them in the future?

Borrow it from the library, I tell myself.

What if I end up really loving it when I do read it?

Then you can buy it in the future.

It’s a real internal monologue I have with myself about what could happen if I were to donate these books. But here are the facts: getting rid of books I don’t intend on reading soon will clear up some space for books I actually want, reduce my TBR pile, and possibly give another person an opportunity to get a book they’ve always wanted to read.

Anyway, enough babbling. Here are the books that I’m thinking of donating. If you’ve read any of these and think I should really give them a shot, I am open to persuasion.

  1. In a World Just Right by Jen Brooks
  2. A Robot in the Garden by Deborah Install
  3. The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes
  4. The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler (note: I have actually read this one, and I did enjoy it, but I don’t feel the need to have it on my shelves anymore, yaknow?)
  5. This Is Not a Test by Courtney Summers (note: I’ve also read this one, but wasn’t as enamoured with it)
  6. Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
  7. The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan
  8. The Diviners by Libba Bray (if only because I know the Lair of Dreams cover will not match the edition I currently have which will tick me off)
  9. All Fall Down by Jennifer Weiner
  10. Landline by Rainbow Rowell

I’m actually considering doing a readathon in August where I just read a bunch of books that I’m unsure about, and then decide after reading them whether I would like to keep them or give them away. What do you guys think? Would you join me in this TBR-purging endeavour? Let me know!

One thought on “10 Books I Might Unhaul?

Leave a Reply

