March 2016 Wrap Up

Note: normally on Fridays I post booktube videos, but with exams coming up I don’t have a lot of time to film. So, in the meantime, I’ll post some extra freebies.

IMG_5856

Dreaming of Antigone by Robin Bridges

Format: ebook (from NetGalley)

Read: Feb 24 – March 3

Description: Dreaming of Antigone is the story of a girl named Andria who has epilepsy and her life 6 months after her twin sister Iris dies from drug overdose. Andria’s trying to keep her family, friends, and herself together after this loss, and trying to keep her sister’s former boyfriend, Alex, far, far away, blaming him for her death. As the book progresses, she and Alex inevitably get closer, and secrets are revealed about Iris’s seemingly perfect life that cause Andria to think twice about what she believes.

Rating: 2/5 stars

My Thoughts: Like I said in my review, this book was a solid OK. It wasn’t as mind-blowing as I was hoping it would be, but it was entertaining enough for me to want to continue reading it. Ultimately, the number of things I disliked about this book outweighed the number of things I did like, which is why I gave it such a low rating. To see my full review, click here.

 

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

Format: paperback

Read: March 26

Description: Elena loves Star Wars – like, really loves Star Wars. In fact, she loves it so much that she decides to camp out for 3 days in front of her local movie theatre in order to be first in line to see The Force Awakens and so she can have that line-experience that she hears all about. When she arrives, however, there are only 2 other people in the “line”: an older gentleman named Troy who’s a camp-out veteran, and a guy named Gabe around Elena’s age who’s also camping out for the first time. Throughout the story Elena must fight the uncomfortable conditions, her mother’s pleas to come home, and Gabe’s cold shoulder, just so she can get the best seats in the house. Will Elena survive, or will she give in to her mother’s hot chocolate bribes?

Rating: 5/5 star

My thoughts: I don’t really have much to say about this book, other than it was short, sweet, and really fun. It packed a big, beautiful punch for such a short story. It was nerdy, it was heartfelt, it was funny. If you haven’t read it yet, I suggest you do.

That’s it for me this week. Thank you all for stopping by, and I’ll talk to you on Monday!

Leave a Reply

