Book Review: The Space Between by Michelle L. Teichman

The Space Between

(Image and Description from Goodreads)

Publisher: Ylva Publishing

Date of Publication: March 1, 2016

Date Read: March 25 – April 5, 2016

Description:

Everything’s great for Harper Isabelle, the most popular girl in grade nine. That is, until she meets Sarah Jamieson. Sarah is a reclusive artist, a loner who wears black makeup and doesn’t have any friends, but for some reason, Harper can’t stop thinking about her.
Sarah isn’t used to people looking her way, especially popular girls like Harper Isabelle. Scared, religious, and unsure of herself, when Sarah begins to realize that her feelings for Harper might go beyond friendship, she is afraid to take the plunge and tell Harper how she feels.
Emotions build between these young women until they both reach their breaking points, and they need to make a choice about coming to terms with who they really are, and what they can and cannot live without.

Buy it from: Chapters | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Note: I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: ★★★☆☆  (it’s more like a 3.5)

I finished this book not really knowing how I felt about it. Some of it was good, some of it was not-so-good, but overall it was an entertaining read.

I noticed that the beginning seemed very cliche, but I tried not to let it bother me too much because A) the description pretty much warns you that there will be cliche parts, and B) it gives the foundation for good character development.

One of my main problems is that a lot of the middle portion of this book seemed to be really repetitive. The events were cyclical, happening again and again, to the point of it becoming a little boring. I understand that having the major event happen there would have shortened the book, but adding some kind of crazy twist or exciting event might have been good to brightened up the middle just a little bit.

On the other hand, this cyclical portion made for good suspense. Would something different happen this time? I knew that things were going to have to go wrong eventually, but I didn’t know when, and I worried with every turn of the page. It was a little disappointing, really, when I got to the end of a chapter and found that nothing had really changed. I mean, it was good to know that the characters were safe (for now), but that also meant that it was just a repeat of what had happened before.

I also found that there would just be these huge blocks of text, in which the characters were thinking to themselves. Normally, I’m fine with being in a character’s head and getting to know them better, but this needed to be broken apart better, because reading consecutive long paragraphs can be exhausting.

Outside of these not-so-fabulous bits, I did enjoy the story. It was very emotional and heartfelt, with cute scenes and emotionally charged scenes and a whole lot of courage. Honestly, the last 40% of this book is what really won me over; drama, drastic actions, big revelations, and a nice contrast near the end that I couldn’t help but notice while I was reading

And that epilogue. Seriously, that epilogue was the best. So cute. I’m very happy that Michelle included that.

The characters in this story are one of my favourite parts. They were vibrant and lively and realistic. I cared about these characters, I worried about these characters, I continued to read so I could see where these characters would end up. I watched them grow, make mistakes, crash and burn, and learn from these experiences. Remember that character development I talked about at the beginning? Yeah, there was lots of that. They all seemed like completely different people by the end, which was really nice.

And the romance bit, you ask? It takes some time, but oh boy does it build. And yes, romance is a huge part of this book, so if you don’t like romance, this probably isn’t the book for you. Luckily for me, I enjoy romance, so I was all for it.

Overall: Slow start, strong ending.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Space Between by Michelle L. Teichman

Leave a Reply

